Girls and Superheroes

I’m a little late, so it’s not exactly new news, but my story “The Girl Who Flies With the Superhero” was published in the Summer Issue of The Vignette Review.  I wrote this story as an exercise for a class with Kathy Fish, and it started off with my hearing the voice of a teenage girl dictating the first and last sentences to me.

“The Girl Who Flies With the Superhero” is meant as sort of the little sister of “The Girl” in “The Girl Who Waits for the Superhero.”  That story, the product of watching too many superhero movies and TV shows (which my younger daughter adores), was written when I was recovering from having my appendix out.  It was originally published in Atlas and Alice and was just reprinted in a local literary journal, S-Curves.

Leave a Reply

